Getting to know John Bell

Each month, the Human Resources and Marketing Departments at Edward White Hospital will feature a different member of our outstanding hospital.

John, with

John, with Patty.

Name: John Bell

Department and Position: RN, Emergency Room

Where are you originally from? Bedford, England. I came to West Texas in 1982. Then I got out of the service in ’88. I was a medic in the Air Force. Then I came right to St Pete.

How long have you worked at Edward White Hospital? Since 2009.

What is your favorite thing about Edward White Hospital? It’s a family.  You know everyone. I’ve worked as an RN for 23 years.  [This hospital] is run differently than any other place. It’s always been. It’s a family atmosphere with the staff.  It’s more than just a job.

What has been your department’s greatest achievement this year? We have a new manager, Patty who has unified everything. She embodies the hospital. She’s been with Edward White Hospital for 15 or 16 years. She has a good understanding of our department, and a good personality that clicks with the department.

What has been your greatest achievement at work this year?  I take pride in the staff I work with and the relationships I’ve made here.  Here it’s more about that fact that we’re a small hospital. We’re a family first. We care about our departments. I’ve been to other hospitals that don’t have that. The ER is a family. It’s not about one person. It’s about the entire family.

What has been your greatest personal achievement? I’ve got two kids, Caitlin, 17, and Sean, 14.  I’m a single dad. My wife passed away ten years ago from breast cancer. Both of my kids are in high school. My daughter is in honors. My greatest achievement has been watching my kids grow.

What’s your favorite place to eat in town?  I love Bella Brava. I go for there Spaghetti Bolognese. It’s simmered for twelve hours. And I get a Caprese salad. And a Peroni Beer. You can’t get any better than that.

Where is your favorite place to travel?
I haven’t traveled that much. I was born in Northern India, then grew up in England, then moved to the States. I’d like to see Thailand and Africa. My goal when I retire is to volunteer as a travel nurse.

What is one thing that people might not know about you?
I’m always happy. Life is good.  (laughs) Oh, and I have too many toys. Three cars, two motorcycles. I just bought a new Porsche. Boxter-S. I have a harley. They’re just my toys. No wife… lots of toys.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Contact Us

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s